Good week incoming? 🤔

Are you leaving this week to chance?

Achieve Everything you Want by Winning the Week

In Today’s Issue…

  • How to be an overnight success 🚀 

  • The One app I use every day 📱 

  • Sunday planning ⛅️ ☕️ 

Welcome!

I’m putting the finishing touches to todays issue after watching Joe (my sporty bf) complete his first Ironman 70.3 of the year yesterday in Mallorca ☀️ 

He placed in the top 4% out of 2,854 athletes (*cue excited gf) ✨ 

Watching him cross the finish line, cheering him on with my homemade poster 😅 (scroll to the bottom for a sneak peak 👀 ) I realised that Joe has one of the best case studies of winning the week I know and I wanted to share it here…

So lets dig in 😉 

How to be an overnight success 🚀 

Just to set the scene - (if you didn’t know) then an Ironman 70.3 is:
1.9k of swimming, 90k on a bike, a half marathon and yesterday all in 27 degree heat 🥵 

It’s not for me 👀 but Joe loves it and is getting better and better with each event.

In 2019 on one of his first half-marathons he ran a time of 2 hours 8 minutes. Yesterday he ran it in 1 hour 31 and after 3 hours of exercise already!

Finishline Joe ⬇️ 🥇 

He realised he loves triathlon about 18 months ago and watching his training and progress since, it is quite literally all down to how he wins each week.

  1. Plan - He sets his goal and what he does each week is simply reverse engineered and planned from where he wants to get to

  2. Announce - He got himself a coach 18 months ago - someone he shares his goals with, who keeps him accountable and makes sure he’s working on the most important things

  3. Ahead - He looks ahead at the week on a Sunday and plans in his training sessions - theyre a non negotiable and he makes sure the time is there to get them done. He doesnt wake up in the morning and decide what he’s doing that day!

  4. Focus - He has a training session each day focusing on one sport. He doesnt try to swim, bike and run all at the same time.

    He would quite clearly make no progress in either!

    But thats what lots of us try to do.

    Multitask our way throughout the day.

    On average he has around 90 minutes a day of focus on one discipline.

  5. Fun - He absolutely loves it - so when you have dedicated time to the things that you love, you enjoy the week, the journey and you get better each day at it

You see where I’m going with this 😅 

Joe gets lots of comments all the time now about how well he’s doing and how it seems so easy to him.

Of course no one witnesses the dark work. The work he does each day and each week to move a step closer to his goals.

The work that we’re all doing day in, day out to progress to our goals.

They just see an overnight success.

But that my friend comes from winning the week.

If you want to get really serious about making 2024 the best damn year you’ve had some planning, focus time and accountability for you will change everything.

The one app I use everyday 📱 

You might already know that I’m Brendon Burchards no 1 fan 🤟. I went to see him live in Austin TX last year and it was akin to being a ‘Swiftie’ and seeing Taylor in action. I was in fan girl heaven. He also knows how to bring the sauce to any stage (here’s me, my friend April and BB below 😂 )

He’s the first person that really made me look at my own daily habits in achieving my long term goals.

It’s winning the week 52 times each year.

Its the daily and the weekly which adds up to making progress.

Since I started using his app GrowthDay.com I really started to understand that achieving your goals is just the daily habits compounding. Plan my goals and track my habits.

My 3 top things I must get done this week? I add to Growthday and set myself reminders.

It also has the most insane library of key notes and courses on so many topics which will help you to win the week - from confidence to public speaking, leadership to time management.

I’m sharing this because it is simply the one thing I use every SINGLE DAY.

I listen to the courses while Im in the car or at the gym. I track my goals and habits in there so I move forwards. I’ve recommended it to so many of my clients who love it and I think that some of you will love it too 🫶 

Brendon also drops a daily motivation audio and most often the topics are like he’s stepped inside my thoughts and is speaking directly to me on a problem I’m working on that day 🤯 

If you’re looking for a goal tracker combined with a life coach in one app - this is it and I cannot recommend it enough.

You can take a look at all the good stuff here > Growth Day App

Do your PAAFF planning today 📔 :

  • Plan - What are the top 3 things you must get done by this Friday?

  • Announce - Share with those who support you what you need to get done.

  • Ahead - Look ahead to this week - is it overscheduled? does it fill you with joy looking ahead? If not what can you do about it now?

  • Focus Time - your 60/90 minutes of scheduled focus time should be in your diary now. Guarded time where you remove all distractions and work on your most important projects to move them forwards

  • Fun - Enjoying the week is as important as using it productively. Have you got time for things you enjoy scheduled in this week?

Remember - you have 168 juicy HOURS coming your way this week - take 10 minutes to make them your best yet.

Win The Week Stats You Should know! 📈 

  • 51% of companies aim at creating aligned goals for themselves. Of these 51% only 6% bother to re-visit them throughout the year 😢 

  • Those who set actionable tasks for their goals and track weely progress to supportive people around them achieve 40% more than those that didn’t - Plan and win the week 🙏 

That’s it for this sunny Sunday.

Keep ‘winning the week’ a priority my friend. I’m cheering you on.

It will help you achieve your goals ✨ 

Much love… go win the week

Em

x

P.S. If there’s anything you’ like to see in here, a topic for me to tackle or just any feedback at all - HIT REPLY! I’m here to help you 🙏 

P.P.S If you know someone who would love practical tips sent to their inbox every week of How to Win the Week!...➡️  Forward this edition to them and they can sign up here: https://emmas-newsletter-adef7a.beehiiv.com/subscribe 

P.P.S If you wanted to see that homemade poster 😅 :

How was this weeks issue?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.